just eat the brownie

DSC03415

When I read this article, I just wanted to shout an “AMEN!” It’s not very long, so I hope you take a minute to read it if you get the chance (I apologize for some of the language). Here is an excerpt that sums it up pretty well:

“I want women to allow themselves to want food. I want women to be hungry and ask for what they want to eat without apologizing. I want women to stop looking for permission from others before they eat something that is not a carrot or spinach. I want my friends to get the chili fries if they want the chili fries, and not say something like, “It all goes straight to my ____” (hips, thighs, butt, etc.). I want to see a girl sink her teeth into a huge cheeseburger and fries and not cut the burger in half to save some for later. I want my mother to allow herself more than one small square of dark chocolate per day. I want women to take pleasure in food, without punishing ourselves for wanting it.

As I try to tell my patients/clients and hope I’ve conveyed on this blog, I think there is room for a little bit of everything in our diets. Nothing makes me more frustrated than when someone is made to feel like a lesser person because they eat [insert “horrible” food item here]. Gluten, meat, sugar, dessert, dairy…heck, even fruits have been demonized.

I also can’t tell you the number of times someone has commented on the somewhat large amounts of food I eat and the number of times I’ve left the table of a social gathering a little hungry so as not to be judged.

Enough is enough!

I do not think I should have to apologize for being hungry and for listening to my body tell me it needs food. While I don’t think people should continuously eat in excess “just because”, if your stomach is growling, you’re irritable, you can’t concentrate…these are all signs that you’re hungry and need more food – no matter what our culture says about how much food should be on your plate.

Yes, I think healthy foods are important for our health but, as I’ve said before, if you eat healthy foods 80% of the time, there is more than enough room for some of that plate of yours to be a brownie/cheeseburger/chips/other “treat” without apologizing to anyone or feeling bad about it.

What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

