creamy avocado dressing

Today, you’re going to get a little picture into how I plan meals for the week. And, as you may have guessed from the title of today’s post, you’ll get a recipe too!

As I was planning, I was taking inventory of everything I had that needed to be used up. I had taken a batch of black beans out of the freezer over the weekend and, after planning my dinners for the week, I knew there would be just enough left for one of my lunches. There was also some romaine lettuce that needed to be used and some mini bell peppers starting to get soft in my crisper drawer.

Given the above ingredients and my love for all foods in the Mexican family, of course I settled on a taco salad. Normally, I would use some salsa as the salad dressing but the salsa I have right now is a little too spicy for me and I didn’t really want to cover my salad with it. I did have 3/4 of an avocado left though….and a container of plain Greek yogurt. I thought surely I could turn these into a decent salad “dressing”.

20140909_165214

Creamy Avocado Dressing

(makes a little over 1/2 cup)

1 avocado, peeled + pitted

1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

juice of 1/2 lime

1 teaspoon chopped fresh cilantro

1/4 teaspoon salt

Combine all ingredients in food processor (or blender) and blend until smooth.

As I mentioned, I only had about 3/4 of an avocado left, but a whole one should work just fine. An individual (5.3 oz) cup of Greek yogurt is just over 1/2 cup, so you could just add it all and adjust the seasoning to taste if needed. For the cilantro, I use this cilantro paste because:

1) I can never use an entire bunch of fresh cilantro before it goes bad

2) It takes me way too long to pull the cilantro leaves off the stem before chopping

3) I have never been successful at growing my own cilantro

You should try it. It saves so much time and trouble. One tablespoon of the paste is equal to one tablespoon of fresh cilantro. They have other varieties too! I try to have the basil on hand occasionally, but I just used the last of mine because I made this chickpea salad so many times.

Back to the avocado dressing. I made taco salads for dinner to try out my freshly made dressing and it was spectacular. Cool, creamy, tangy, and it coated the lettuce evenly which (although I l.o.v.e. guacamole) is something guacamole can’t quite do. I prepped my lunch salad as I made my dinner taco salad to save loads of time in the morning.

20140909_185657

There’s romaine lettuce on the bottom topped with bell pepper, black beans, corn, and rice. I have my avocado dressing and salsa in separate small containers so nothing gets soggy! A filling, healthy lunch that took no extra time or effort to prepare. Gotta love that!

One thought on “creamy avocado dressing

Leave a Reply

