fast food friday

I am all about fast food. No, I’m not talking about what you might find at your local Burger King. I’m talking healthy, real food that I can make at home….fast.

When I get hungry, I need food right.this.very.second….or else things go downhill quickly (just ask my family). Planning ahead is 100% necessary because I can go from being totally fine/not hungry at all to absolutely ravenous in approximately 30 seconds.

Because of this, it helps to have a rough plan for what I’m going to make for dinner each night so I don’t eat my entire kitchen while trying to make up my mind (which is even harder at this point because everything sounds good when you’re hungry!).

Maybe you have the same experience at dinner time? If so, I thought it might be fun to share some of the quick meals I make during the week. Some honestly take as little as 10 minutes, start to finish. Doing some prep on the weekends (washing/chopping vegetables, etc.) has saved me even more time with both cooking and clean-up during the week, but it doesn’t add on a ton of time if I haven’t done those things in advance.

For this week’s quick meal, I’m sharing this salad I made last night:

20140813_180450

My rough plan for dinner was Mexican. This usually means rice/homemade tortillas/chips/sweet potato + beans, corn, avocado, salsa, etc. Varying the “base” makes it feel/taste like a different meal, even though it may be the same ingredients.

For this salad, I turned the oven on broil when I walked in the door (so it would heat faster…it works – try it!). I chopped a sweet potato and tossed it with a little oil, chili powder, cumin, onion powder, smoked paprika, and salt. This went on a foil-lined baking sheet (less clean-up) and into the oven, which I then turned down to 425 degrees.

The sweet potato takes 15-20 minutes, but I spent that time getting out the other ingredients and cleaning up the kitchen. You could also roast the sweet potato in advance & store in the fridge for even quicker prep. To put it all together, I tossed some mixed greens with salsa and topped with leftover chicken (cooked in the slow cooker over the weekend), avocado, and sweet potato.

Easy, filling, healthy, delicious. That’s what fast food should be, right?

Leave a Reply

