summer rolls + peanut lime dipping sauce

Last time I posted, I just taunted you with a picture of “spring” rolls, but no recipe! I apologize. But now that I think I nailed the dipping sauce, I think a recipe is in order! Oh and I also realized after I posted that I called these spring rolls, when they are in fact summer rolls. Spring rolls are typically fried…these are not!

Summer Rolls + Peanut Lime Dipping Sauce (makes 4 rolls – serves 1)

  • 2-4 leaves green leaf or romaine lettuce
  • 1/4 avocado, sliced thin
  • 1/4 red bell pepper, sliced in thin strips
  • 1/4 medium cucumber, peeled, seeded, & sliced into thin strips
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • 1 carrot, shredded or cut into thin strips (Once I finished peeling the carrot, I actually just kept peeling to get thin carrot ribbons)
  • 4 sheets rice paper
  • 2 tablespoons sesame or canola oil
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon chunky peanut butter
  1. To rehydrate rice paper, add a shallow layer of warm water to a high-sided dinner plate or a large, wide bowl. I used a bowl the first time and had trouble keeping the papers from tearing as they bent to fit in the bowl. I found that using a dinner plate worked great because the paper could lay flat as it hydrated.
  2. Lay one paper in the warm water for 1 to 2 minutes, flipping/moving around if necessary until it becomes pliable.
  3. Transfer to a flat surface near your other ingredients, like a cutting board.
  4. Begin by laying a small piece (or pieces) of lettuce (about the size of your palm) about 1/2 inch from the edge of the rice paper closest to you, making sure to leave 1/2 to 1 inch on the left and right sides as well.
  5. Top lettuce with a 2-3 slices of bell pepper, avocado, and cucumber, along with a small handful of the shredded carrot and a sprinkle of green onion.
  6. Fold the side closest to you tightly over the ingredients, then fold each side in toward the center before continuing to roll forward. The rice paper sticks to itself and seals well on its own. Place on serving plate and continue with remaining rolls.
  7. To prepare the dipping sauce, combine oil, vinegar, lime juice, brown sugar, soy sauce, and peanut butter in a small bowl and whisk with a fork to combine. Serve with summer rolls and refrigerate leftovers in an airtight container for up to 1 week. Shake well and serve with your next round of summer rolls!

These are such a great summer meal! Light, full of vegetables, and no hot oven required! Soon, I’ll post a recipe I created for a recipe contest focused on unique ways to use one of my favorite summer foods – BERRIES!….using 7 ingredients or less! I was really happy with my finished product so I’m hoping for the best!

 

Leave a Reply

