spring rolls

I’ve been in a bit of a food rut. Although…is it really a rut if you love what you’re making?? It has been a lot of this:

Homemade corn tortillas with black beans, corn, salsa, cheese, and TONS of avocado. I love avocado.

When I’m not eating homemade tacos for dinner, it’s usually bean burgers + roasted potatoes. And a lot of dinners out with friends lately who are leaving town 😦

To change things up a bit though, I decided to try out something new – spring rolls!

I picked up some rice paper in the produce department today and some veggies to fill it with. I settled on thinly sliced carrots, bell pepper, cucumber, avocado, and green onion. Wrapped it all up in rice paper rolls and then whipped up a quick dipping sauce: 2 Tbsp. unseasoned rice vinegar + 1 Tbsp. soy sauce + 2 Tbsp. olive oil + 1 Tbsp. peanut butter + black pepper + splash of toasted sesame oil. I had tons of extra sauce, so I’m looking forward to eating this again later in the week!

Don’t be intimidated by the rice paper! Some of mine had cracks in them before I put them in the hot water to soak, which become tears once “hydrated”. However,  I discovered that these tears were usually well covered by another solid layer of rice paper during the rolling process, so nothing to get frustrated about.

A light, healthy dinner (or lunch!) for those hot summer days!

2 thoughts on “spring rolls

    • Sydney says:

      Yeah! The recipe on the Bob’s Red Mill package says to let the dough rest for an hour before rolling it out, but I’m always too hungry. I do 1/2 c. mix + dash salt + ~1/2 c. warm water, then divide the dough into 3 balls. I roll each one out between pieces of plastic wrap, then toss it onto the hot skillet while I roll out the next one. I cook it for a few minutes on one side before flipping and cook it less on the 2nd side. Sometimes it will get a wrinkle or 2 when I put it in the pan that I can’t get out right away but I’m able to get it out as soon as I flip it. Hope that helps? 🙂

Leave a Reply

