potato coconut curry

Within the past year, I have developed a serious liking for Indian food but I have never really attempted to make it at home. Until last week. There are a few potato curry recipes that I have pinned, but I always seem to be missing at least one ingredient. So, I came up with my own recipe. I would say it is far from anything authentic, but it certainly took care of my Indian food craving 🙂

Potato Coconut Curry

  • 1 tsp. coconut oil (or olive oil)
  • 4 small red potatoes, diced into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/2 small onion, diced
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1 cup light coconut milk (from a can)
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained + rinsed
  • 1 can fire-roasted diced tomatoes, drained
  • 1/4 tsp. garam masala
  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • salt + pepper
  1. Heat oil in a saucepan or dutch oven over medium heat. Toss potatoes with salt and pepper, then add to pan and cook until browned and slightly softened – about 10 minutes.
  2. Add onion + garlic and cook 1 -2 minutes before adding chickpeas, tomatoes, and coconut milk.
  3. Reduce heat to medium and stir in spices.
  4. Simmer, uncovered, 20-25 minutes until sauce is thickened and potatoes are tender.
  5. Stir in peas and cook an additional 2-3 minutes until peas are heated through.
  6. Serve over rice – I cooked mine with some of the extra coconut milk!

This is great as leftovers too! I was eating it cold out of the fridge while I waited for my pan to heat up 🙂 I like that the sauce thickened up in the fridge, but since I had some coconut milk left, I went ahead and added some I heated the leftovers to create more sauce.

Garam masala is just a mix of several spices including coriander, cumin, and cinnamon. If you don’t have any, you could definitely just throw in some of these spices or add more curry powder.

For an update from my hotel grocery experience, here is a Chipotle-style burrito bowl that I created in my room Friday night.

Never mind that I ate the same thing for lunch Saturday on the way to the meet…and that I was tempted into going to Chipotle when we stopped for dinner Saturday night, where I got pretty much the same thing again. Black beans + guac never gets old.

 

 

Leave a Reply

