lunch

I’ve probably said it a million times, but random meal combos are always the best. My lunch lately has consisted of a giant plate of fruits, veggies with some hummus, and a slice of bread because I have found that this seems to be the most agreeable with my stomach for afternoon practice (it only took my 5 years to figure this out…) But, seeing as how I usually do my grocery shopping on Saturday mornings, the options are slim on Fridays. I had an apple, a kiwi, a few carrots, no hummus, and no bread. I did have some wheatberries for a grain stand-in, as well as half of a lemon, 1/4 of an avocado, and some other random items. I just started throwing things together and ended up with this:

Wheat berries, tuna, black pepper, a squeeze of lemon juice, diced avocado, and a sprinkle of grated Parmesan cheese. I really wasn’t sure how this would taste but the saltiness of the cheese was perfect with the tuna. I can’t wait to eat this again! 😀

This would be perfect for an on-the-go lunch too. Wheat berries are the whole grain of wheat before any processing occurs. Because of this, they are packed with fiber to fill you up, as well as other important vitamins and minerals, like manganese. You can’t get much closer to a whole grain than that! The tuna and avocado provide protein and healthy fats that, along with the fiber from the wheat berries, will fill you up and help you avoid that mid-afternoon slump. I balanced it out with some carrots and hummus (I ended up just going to thee store a day early) and some fruit (apple, kiwi, pineapple) on the side, which would also be easy to pack and take with you.

You could make this quick salad on the weekend, then portion into individual containers and it would be ready to grab as you run out the door in the morning. I also clean and cut things like pineapple, melon, or salad greens when I get home from the store so they’re easier to deal with when I want to make a quick lunch. Give it a try! I guarantee it is much more delicious satisfying than any pre-packaged or frozen meal out there…and there’s no waiting in line for the microwave required! 😉

Leave a Reply

