hot sauce. cold weather.

Winter has finally decided to arrive…at least for a few days. I shouldn’t complain. We have gotten off UNBELIEVABLY easy this year as far as winter goes. It has snowed just twice (including yesterday) and each time was only enough to stick around for maybe a day. Still, I have a cross country race on Saturday. Outside. In the Midwest. And I would really like for the unseasonably warm temperatures to return.

At least I have this hot sauce from the warm island climate of St. John to get me through. Thanks Aunt T! 🙂

Now, I’m pretty wimpy when it comes to spicy foods, but this sauce contains pretty much all of my favorite spices/flavors – cumin, curry, turmeric, mustard, vinegar – so I was willing to brave a little heat (habanero peppers?!). Totally worth it. There was a little heat but not the kind of heat that makes it so you can’t taste anything else because your mouth is on fire. It went perfectly with my veggie packed stir-fry.

Frozen veggies are convenient, but you just can’t beat the texture of fresh! This was fresh broccoli, carrots, red + yellow bell pepper, and kale stir-fried in olive oil, garlic, and hoisin sauce. What a fresh and delicious dinner it was…especially with the addition of the flavor-packed hot sauce!

Of course, you know I finished this nutrient-packed meal with one of those red velvet brownies 🙂

Leave a Reply

