stuffed.

Since visiting Kansas City last week where my aunt made a FABULOUS pre-race dinner of stuffed peppers, I have rediscovered my love for this delicious Mexican treat. I was inspired to change up my usual recipe a bit & also discovered that these fancy little peppers can be cooked up much quicker than I originally thought…I just needed to crank up the oven temperature!

So, earlier this week, I made the filling, cooking the millet with garlic, salt, cumin, chili powder, smoked paprika, coriander, and CILANTRO. <—that made a huge difference in the flavor department. I used these frozen cubes of cilantro that I got a Trader Joe’s a few months back, which happen to be the best thing ever. Once the millet was cooked, I stirred in some kidney beans, corn, salsa, & feta cheese before stuffing those peppers & getting them in the oven! 375 degrees for 20-30 minutes…MUCH better than the hour it was taking before when I made these. I usually gave up before the pepper was fully done, but not anymore! I was also inspired by our life group dinner on Wednesday night to whip up some homemade guac to go on top of my pepper. I just smashed half of an avocado with a little minced garlic, salt, pepper, & (you guessed it) another cilantro cube! SO. GOOD.

Good enough that I did the same thing with the leftover filling last night…

Only this time, I also made some of Mama Pea’s Mmmm sauce to go along with my guac because I FINALLY got back to People’s Grocery to buy some more nutritional yeast! Oh my goodness. That sauce is so good. If you have ever been to Cafe Yumm out around Oregon, this recipe is a total match for their addictive Yumm sauce. Literally the week after I was out in Eugene for a track meet last spring & so sad that I couldn’t get a jar of that sauce onto the plane back to Kansas, Mama Pea came through with an exact replica. You must try it.

I also had other plans in mind for my new stash of nutritional yeast, including this creamy smoked kale salad…except I couldn’t find the right kind of kale, so I just made the dressing, tossed my kale with it, then baked it into some seriously delicious kale chips to go along with my red lentil dal & super quick naan bread!

All I did for the naan bread was mix 1/4 c. bread flour with a dash of salt & 1/8 tsp. baking powder, then stirred in a few tablespoons of water until it came together into a dough & cooked it in a skillet over high heat for a few minutes. Mine was a little too wet, so I ended up having to kind of spread the dough into the pan but, with less water, it can just be rolled out like normal dough into a little round flatbread.

Of course, the one day I get daylight for taking food pictures & my camera won’t turn on! So, I apologize for the horrible, dark phone pictures, but hopefully I’ll be back up & running again soon!

Leave a Reply

