masala simmer sauce

We all know that Mexican food is my absolute favorite. Avocados, salsa, beans, rice, corn, cumin, chili powder, coriander, tortillas – I could eat this stuff all day, every day. Quickly becoming my second favorite is Indian food. I’ve discovered that these cuisines share a lot of the same spices and I think that’s what does it. I’ve been a little intimidated to try making Indian foods myself for some reason and the products in the store are kind of hit and miss. They seem to be either amazing or really…blah. Trader Joe’s Masala Simmer Sauce? Amazing.

Like some other simmer sauces I’ve tried, this one said to add an entire cup of water + the jar of sauce to your ingredients. However, I’ve found that this makes the final dish taste very bland and I think the flavor is spot-on right out of the jar, so I didn’t add the water.

I added half a can of chickpeas, some frozen mixed vegetables, and some diced potato to a skillet with half the jar of sauce and let it simmer for about 20 minutes and it was ready to go! With some brown rice, this was such a quick, delicious, healthy meal. I also made a batch of Indian spiced cracklin’ cauliflower.

I like veggies, but an entire head of cauliflower is a bit too much with an already filling main dish. I couldn’t finish it all! It was so good though. I have a hard time knowing what to do with cauliflower because it doesn’t have much flavor but it goes so well with Indian food. The peas were really good mixed in as well!

Hopefully I can recreate this masala sauce…or find another store-bought version that is as good as this TJ’s sauce!

One thought on “masala simmer sauce

  1. What a great vegetarian dish! Chickpeas and cauliflowers are indeed perfect for Indian spices. Great to know the TJ sauce is good. I’m too afraid of making my own spicy sauce blend and quite clueless too so this type of pre-made sauce is helpful.

Leave a Reply

