recap

Well, the semester is winding down which means only one thing – much more time to share what’s been going on in my kitchen! Although my goal is still to show that you can eat real, healthy food on a small budget (both money and time), I don’t always have time to SHARE about it during the semester – but it is certainly still occurring!

Awhile back for example (a LONG while…I honestly don’t even remember when), I finally made  a recipe from Clean Food that I  bookmarked over a year ago.

I pretty much always have the ingredients, I just never made it happen. I have no excuse!

Aduki beans could easily be substituted for black beans, but I was able to find them at People’s Grocery in the bulk bins. Planning ahead to soak them is what took me so long to finally make this recipe, I think. Millet is one of my favorite grains and the lemon dressing was super easy, only requiring a few common ingredients. This salad would be a great side dish, but it wasn’t incredibly filling as a meal for some reason.

Another quick, easy meal when your cabinets are completely empty? Potatoes and eggs.

All I have to say is thank goodness I randomly started liking eggs, even if I can only eat them like this. I have no problem spending $3.00 for a dozen, cage free, free range eggs that I can use in baking OR for a quick meal. They are a MUCH cheaper protein source than grass fed beef or free range chicken.

This particular bowl consisted of roasted potato cubes, green onion and red bell pepper for a little flavor, and some sausage I had thawed from the local farmers market. Yum!

Now, can we switch gears a little bit for dessert?? First of all, I don’t think I ever shared my first adventure into the world of cake pops for my roommate Sara’s birthday.

They spell “Happy Birthday Sara”. She went home for her birthday so we couldn’t celebrate with her. I hid this in the fridge in her room for when she came back 🙂 🙂

Definitely not too bad for my first attempt, but this experience gave me some insight for future trials…and an idea for what I think will be an extremely delicious entirely homemade version (I may have cheated on this one in the interest of time and money…)

Even more exciting was this cake I made yesterday (yes, we have finally caught up with everything I’ve managed to document and not blog about for the past few months!)

Pumpkin Pomegranate Upside-Down Cake (based off of Emily’s Pumpkin, Fig, & Pomegranate Upside-Down Cake). I made the original version for Christmas last year, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the fig jam and thought raspberry jam would taste much better. I also un-veganized this version by using real butter, buttermilk, and eggs. For some reason, this one fell apart when I flipped it, but it still tasted AMAZING and my Life Group was very forgiving about it’s less than spectacular appearance 🙂

The cake is so moist and the tart raspberry-pomegranate-cranberry topping completes the fall flavors so well. You must try this cake!!

I plan to be back soon with more about some of Trader Joe’s purchases I shared awhile back, as well as more baking and an adventure into the world of canning! 🙂

Leave a Reply

