sweet caramelized bananas

It is probably no secret that I have a serious sweet tooth. I LOVE desserts! But do you know what I think might be one of the greatest desserts? The one nature created…fruit! Fruits are filled with natural sugars that make them so incredibly sweet tooth satisfying, while also containing fiber and several nutrients that your body needs. Nutrition and dessert all in one? Yes please!

Tonight’s fruity dessert came in the form of banana! To begin, I sliced a banana in half, then sliced each half lengthwise to give me 4 slices of banana. I layered them in a baking dish and sprinkled with brown sugar and cinnamon.

Meanwhile, the oven was heating to 400 degrees so that it could turn these…

….into these!

Oh man. Wait a minute. Did you see all of that caramelized banana goodness?

Yummmm. Next, these babies went into my bowl! (don’t forget to scrape that caramelized sugar out of the dish with your spoon. It gets all candy-like and delicious…like turning your spoon into a lollipop! πŸ™‚ )

Even though the banana already tasted like candy on its own, I decided to add a little something extra…

Shaved chocolate! This was actually a leftover chocolate egg from Easter, but I also could’ve used chocolate chips if I’d had them. We’re not quite done yet!

I finished it off with some Dannon All-Natural Vanilla yogurt and a sprinkle of homemade pumpkin spice granola! Yum, yum, YUM! Sweet tooth: satisfied. And with all natural ingredients too! (…minus that little sprinkle of chocolate πŸ˜‰ )

Who says dessert has to be bad for you?? I really don’t like designating foods as “good” or “bad”, as I think that just makes people feel guilty or like they can’t enjoy themselves. I like to avoid processed foods as much as possible for several reasons but I think everything can be enjoyed in moderation. But moderation is key and not every day is a day for something extremely indulgent. For those days when your sweet tooth is calling your name but you don’t want a decadent slice of triple chocolate cake or a rich bowl of ice cream, look no further than your fruit bowl! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

