gluten-free week: days 1 + 2

Gluten-free week is off to a pretty good start! It turns out I eat a lot of gluten-free foods already…I didn’t have to alter my breakfast or lunch on day 1 at all! Dinner is where the experimentation began…

DAY 1

Breakfast: Scottish oats with banana out of an almost empty PB jar (probably one of my favorite breakfasts EVER) and a glass of milk

Lunch: Chickpea tuna salad, carrots + hummus, peach + cherries

Snack: Homemade crunchy buckwheat granola + yogurt + raisins

Dinner: Veggie quesadilla on brown rice tortilla and a glass of milk

Dessert: Brown rice tortilla + PB & J …had to give the tortillas another shot šŸ™‚

I saw these veggie quesadillas on Mama Pea’s blog the other day and immediately knew I had to make them! Of course, no regular tortilla would do so it was time to branch out into the gluten-free world of brown rice tortillas.

These are really smooth and actually kind of shiny with a great chewy texture and they crisped up nicely on the outside when toasted in the skillet. On their own, the taste has an uncanny resemblance to cardboard. However, the flavor seems to be easily masked by delicious fillings so that all you detect is the great texture šŸ™‚

As absolutely delicious as the nacho Mmmm sauce looked, I decided to just stick with the regular Mmmm sauce since I had already made it.

As far as the filling goes though, I followed the recipe…minus the maple syrup šŸ™‚ The filling was SO GOOD!!! The lime and cumin gave it such great flavor. I ate a nice pile of the extra filling that didn’t fit in my tortilla on the side šŸ™‚

I’m not a huge fan of zucchini/squash but this was definitely another one of those recipes that makes it irresistible! I could definitely just sit myself down with a giant bowl of these veggies and be just as happy as can be šŸ™‚ I don’t want summer veggie season to end!! šŸ˜¦

DAY 2

Breakfast: Pumpkin buckwheat bake (drizzled with pure maple syrup) and a glass of milk

Lunch: Roasted veggie wrap with a banana and fresh cherries

Dinner: Millet stuffed peppers

Although oats themselves are a gluten-free food, they are commonly contaminated with gluten so they cause a reaction in some people with celiac disease/gluten intolerance. Because of this, it is often recommended that those on a GF diet stick to certified gluten-free oats but I have just stuck with my regular oats since they technically ARE gluten-free. However, I decided to break away from the oats this morning for a buckwheat bake! I assembled the dry ingredients last night to save time since it has to bake for 30 minutes.

Buckwheat definitely has a distinct, slightly earthy flavor which was detectable in this, but for the most part it tasted like a moist, cake-like pumpkin bread!

For lunch, I began by cutting 2 carrots and 1/4 red bell pepper into strips and roasting them at 425 degrees until they were tender. Then, I combined some of my spinach artichoke hummus with a little diced sundried tomato and spread it on a brown rice tortilla heating in a non-stick skillet over medium-high heat. I added the roasted veggie strips and a few slices of extra sharp white cheddar onto the tortilla, rolled it all up, then continued to cook on the skillet for a few more minutes to melt the cheese. It actually turned out really well! And I couldn’t taste that cardboard tortilla at all – just delicious chewiness!

Finally – DINNER! Lucky for me that millet is a gluten-free grain because I just LOVE it! šŸ™‚

It just goes so well with Mexican flavors, so all the more reason why I enjoy it!

These peppers are really easy. They take a little time with cooking the millet and baking them, but it is SO worth it.

And you’d better believe I poured some Mmmm sauce all over one of these pepper halves after these pictures šŸ™‚ Can’t get enough of that stuff! I’m sure the nacho Mmmm sauce would’ve been spectacular as well! Now I’m trying to figure out a good gluten-free dessert…that doesn’t involve brown rice tortillas again! šŸ˜‰ I’m thinking soft serve smoothie + homemade granola….

2 thoughts on “gluten-free week: days 1 + 2

  1. truth13 says:

    I just happened upon your blog today as I was looking for recipes. I gotta say, Israeli couscous is NOT gluten free. It is made from wheat. Good luck with going gluten free!

  2. Sydney says:

    Yes, you’re right! I made the meal with couscous before my gluten-free week began though, so it’s all good šŸ™‚ It can be so hard to remember to avoid gluten though!! Just tonight, I made a delicious cornbread to go with dinner and right as I pulled it out of the oven, I remembered I had used whole wheat pastry flour in it šŸ˜¦ Guess I’ll have to wait until the experiment is over to enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by the blog!

Leave a Reply

