As a part of my dietetics curriculum, I have to do a modified diet experience. The goal is to experience a diet that you might prescribe to a client/patient – from shopping to cooking to eating out. Since my summer classes are over and I FINALLY have some free time, I decided this would be a good time of year to get in my diet experience. So, this coming Monday-Friday I’ll be following a gluten-free diet!
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. Some people just have trouble digesting this protein, while others actually have an immune response when they consume gluten that destroys the lining of their small intestine. This is known as celiac disease and it can lead to malnutrition because nutrients can’t be absorbed through the damaged intestine. A gluten-free diet is the only “cure” for celiac disease.
What does a gluten-free diet entail? Well, no wheat, barley, or rye…or any products containing any derivatives of these grains! Oats are naturally gluten-free but are so frequently contaminated with gluten-containing grains, it is recommended that those following a gluten-free diet consume only certified gluten-free oats. However, because I don’t actually require a gluten-free diet, I’ll probably stick to my normal oats rather than buying a whole new container of certified gluten-free oats.
This should be a fun adventure and I’ll be sure to share my thoughts and all of the recipes I try! 🙂