roasted red pepper + feta spread

Remember the last time I posted? I had made a chicken sausage on a homemade bun and experimented with a spread to go with it. Well, I had the exact same dinner tonight! Except that this time, I think I mastered the spread!

Last time, I had an idea in my head for combining feta + roasted red pepper + plain yogurt to create a flavorful spread to compliment my roasted red pepper and asiago chicken sausage. Yet, despite the sheer amount of time I spent thinking about it, it didn’t turn out quite like I’d hoped. It was still tasty, but the texture was a bit thinner than I’d hoped so I didn’t share an exact recipe. Of course, that meant I HAD to try it again! πŸ™‚

Roasted Red Pepper & Feta Spread

  • 2 T. crumbled feta cheese
  • 1 T. plain yogurt (I used Dannon All Natural Plain, but plain Greek yogurt would be great too!)
  • 1 T. finely diced roasted red pepper, dried of excess moisture**
  1. Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and serve with burgers, sausages, etc. for a little Mediterranean flare! πŸ™‚

**I patted the diced pepper with a paper towel because it can add a lot of moisture to the spread and make it a bit too thin.

This makes enough for about 1-2 people, depending on what you’re putting it on, but I think it would be easily expanded. I would just start with the feta, then add about half as much yogurt. This binds the feta together while still maintaining a thick spread that tastes more of feta than plain yogurt (which I don’t much enjoy the flavor of on it’s own).

I think add-ins aside from roasted red pepper would be great too, depending on what you’re putting it on! For example, if you had something like the al fresco sundried tomato or spinach + feta sausages, you could add some diced sundried tomatoes or even chopped herbs, like basil! Of course, it would be good on more that just sausages…they just have so many flavors that are coming to mind right now! It could be a good topping for tacos/burritos/nachos or a hamburger stuffed with feta and roasted red pepper with some avocado on top (I made something similar last summer and it was AMAZING).

On another note, I can’t believe summer is flying by so quickly!! I am SO GLAD that my classes will officially be over at this time next week and then it’ll almost be time for my road trip, but that means my final year at K-State will be starting as soon as I return! 😦 Once school starts, it seems to fly by so it’ll all be over before I know it! I suppose the best thing to do is just enjoy each day as it comes! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

