summer food

A few weeks ago, I came across these sausages in the freezer that I’ve had for a month or so:

I’ve tried a few different varieties of these al fresco sausages like the sweet apple and spinach + feta. I was about to buy the sundried tomato before I decided on these roasted pepper and asiago sausages. I’ve tried them on pizza, but I just find the texture of sausages like this to be kind of strange and rubbery. I prefer ground sausage on pizza, so I decided to eat it as you would probably normally eat a sausage…like a hot dog! And, since it was 4th of July, I thought it would be a fitting meal to celebrate šŸ™‚

When I made my homemade bread, I just took off a little chunk of dough before letting it rise and formed it into a little hot dog bun. Instead of dragging out my grill for one sausage, I just broiled it in the oven on our broiler pan. It actually turned out pretty good – I love that broiler pan!

I really wasn’t sure what would be good on a roasted pepper and asiago sausage. Then, I got an idea. Instead of using something like mustard which just didn’t seem to “match”, I created my own topping!

I combined plain yogurt with feta cheese and diced roasted red pepper for a delicious, unique topping for my chicken sausage. I used 1/4 c. yogurt + 2 T. feta + 2 T. roasted red pepper. It was good, but I think it was a little thinner than what I was picturing in my head. Next time I make it, I think I’ll use less yogurt – maybe 2 T. I was just hoping for the sauce to be chunkier with the predominant flavor being feta rather than just having a little feta floating around in the yogurt.

My bun also fell apart, so this turned into a pretty messy meal, but it was definitely delicious! A great way to celebrate the 4th of July šŸ™‚

Before heading back to lunches at work after a long holiday weekend, I had some tuna salad and avocado left that needed to be used. Why not combine them?! I’m really not sure why I didn’t think about this before….

My tuna salad is usually just tuna with some bell peppers, onions, black pepper, and lemon juice (if I have it). It is delicious, but it doesn’t necessarily stay together very well. The avocado was the perfect “glue” for my tuna salad! Talk about some serious healthy fats in this meal!! I highly recommend the combination šŸ™‚

Can I also just talk about that peach for a minute?? There are two local markets (Eastside and Westside Markets) that have absolutely amazing peaches every year. I went to two people’s houses a few weeks ago and both served desserts containing these peaches and I just HAD to go get some myself. They are so tender and juicy. Oh man. BEST peaches ever. In fact, I think I’m just going to have to go get some more today! šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “summer food

Leave a Reply

