summer grilled veggie pasta

Oh my goodness. I just created the absolute most wonderful dinner EVER. I just love winging it! So, I was planning out my meals for this week and figured I should work pasta in there somewhere because its easy and it is super hard for me to use up an entire jar of pasta sauce before it goes bad. I mean, we have mini-sized everything else, why not mini jars of pasta sauce?? Then I realized that the sauce I did have was probably bad. Pasta with broccoli + olive oil + garlic salt it would be!

But then I had an idea. My mom and sister came up on Saturday and we did some grilling together for dinner. Boring broccoli pasta + leftover grilled veggies?? Genius.

Summer Grilled Veggie Pasta (serves 1 – 2)

  • 1/2 to 1 c. uncooked whole wheat pasta
  • 1/2 c. frozen broccoli
  • 1 c. grilled vegetables (ours was a mix of yellow + zucchini squash, tomato, onion, and green + red bell pepper tossed with olive oil, salt, pepper, and oregano before grilling in a grill basket)
  • olive oil
  • 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • dash garlic salt
  1. Cook pasta in a medium saucepan about 10 minutes until done.
  2. Meanwhile, steam broccoli for about 5 minutes until tender.
  3. When the pasta is cooked, drain it and leave it in the pasta drainer. You’ll return it to the pot later!
  4. Return the empty saucepan to the burner and heat about 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil with minced garlic over medium to medium high heat.
  5. Add grilled veggies and cook 2-3 minutes over medium to heat before adding steamed broccoli and cooking an additional 1-2 minutes.
  6. Add cooked pasta with a drizzle of olive oil and a dash of garlic salt. Stir to combine and heat another 2-3 minutes before serving.

Y.U.M. The grilled veggies add SO much amazing flavor!! The garlic salt and olive oil coated the pasta so well and added to the awesome flavor.

Roasted veggies are good and all but you really just can’t match the flavor of veggies off the grill. If you don’t have a grill basket, you can find them almost anywhere. You could also just keep the veggies in larger pieces for grilling, then slice them into smaller bite-sized pieces when they’re done. The combo of yellow + zucchini squash, tomato, bell pepper, and onion was awesome and the steamed broccoli was the perfect pasta addition. I used the remaining grilled veggies the next night for fajitas (which is what we used them for originally) and they were just as delicious as ever. Makes me want to break out my grill and cook up some grilled veggies to have on hand every week!

 

Leave a Reply

