chickpea tuna salad

One of the perks of my job is that I get free meals while I’m working, which pretty much means I only eat 1 meal per day at home. Are the choices the best for my 2 away meals? No. I’ve been able to make it work for the most part, but let me just say that iceberg lettuce with a few random veggies is not super satisfying. However, I’ll take that over the obscene amount of overly processed items and meat I’ve seen coming out of boxes in giant frozen masses. But that is another story for another time 🙂

Last week, I only worked over breakfast and lunch so I bought some good stuff to make for dinners. Then, something came up every night where I ended up eating dinner elsewhere! I ended up with some sad veggies and things in my fridge and decided grocery trips really weren’t necessary. This week, all I bought was milk and in the mean time, I’m getting creative with what I’ve already got to avoid wasting anymore food!

That’s where this tuna salad came from! I haven’t been making bread since I’m not here to eat it for breakfast or lunch but I needed something to eat for my weekend lunches! I knew a regular tuna salad wouldn’t be nearly filling enough with no bread so my plan was a tuna wheatberry salad. Then all my wheatberries went down the drain as I rinsed them 😦 As I browsed my cabinets for a replacement, I saw a can of chickpeas and went with it.

Chickpea Tuna Salad (2 servings – 1 cup each)

  • 1 can tuna, drained (mine was 3.75 oz.)
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained + rinsed
  • 1/4 c. diced frozen bell pepper + onion mix (you could also use fresh if you have it)
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • dash salt + pepper
  • squeeze lemon juice
  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix to combine. Serve immediately or refrigerate to let the flavors blend together a bit.

This was surprisingly filling and so delicious. A quick, refreshing summer meal!

2 thoughts on “chickpea tuna salad

Leave a Reply

