a month later….

….my camera has been returned!!!! I am so excited to start sharing recipes with you again! 🙂 Let’s start with this chicken that I found quite a while back somewhere I NEVER expected….Wal-Mart.

I have been saving this box F.O.R.E.V.E.R. so I could document it when my camera returned 🙂 I had just been thinking about how I really wanted to get a little meat but didn’t want to make a completely separate stop to purchase a $4.00 piece of chicken when I looked over and saw this! It was a little pricey but I think it was worth it to find a good natural chicken. Pretty much the main thing I’ve been making with it is this:

BBQ chicken pizza. I. am. obsessed. I randomly started craving it awhile back but for some reason I was afraid it wouldn’t turn out. How very wrong I was. I don’t think I’ll ever make a “regular” pizza again! I made some of my whole wheat pizza crust (which makes enough for 4 individual pizzas) a little over a week ago. I gave one crust to my roommate and the rest were turned into this deliciousness. The dough kept pretty well wrapped in plastic wrap in the fridge. I just put it in a warm oven before I used it each time to let it warm up before kneading + rolling it. It definitely didn’t rise as much tonight, but it was still totally delicious 🙂

BBQ Chicken Pizza (serves 1)

  • 1 individual pizza crust
  • Cornmeal for dusting the cookie sheet (optional)
  • 1/4 c. BBQ sauce (I use Gates Original)
  • about 3 oz. cooked chicken breast, cut into strips
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • 1/2 tomato, seeded + diced
  • 1/4 shredded cheese (I used colby jack)
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. If you have made the whole wheat pizza crust, divide into 4 dough balls. Roll out one and save the rest for later. Or, use a store bought pizza crust, bagel, pita, flatbread….whatever!
  3. Sprinkle a cookie sheet with cornmeal for a nice crunch on the bottom of your crust, then place the rolled out dough on top.
  4. Spread about 1-2 Tbsp. BBQ sauce on the crust to just form a light layer.
  5. Mix the rest of the BBQ sauce with the cooked chicken until evenly coated.
  6. Arrange the chicken on the crust, then sprinkle on the green onion, tomato, and cheese.
  7. Place in the oven and bake for 10-12 minutes until cheese is melted and crust is golden.
  8. Believe me, I know it’s hard but allow it to cool a few minutes before cutting/eating. It is SO much better when you haven’t burned your tongue off and you can actually taste it 😉

So, so, so, so, so good. You must try it.

You know what else I made when I didn’t have my camera?? An amazing cake-like form of a Reese’s peanut butter cup. It. was. amazing. I’ve made it twice. Within about a week’s time. And now I guess I’ll just have to make it again so I can share a picture 🙂 Then I’ll just have to eat it too I suppose. It’s rough, I know 🙂

I have another little recipe to share too, but I’ll save it for another day 🙂

Leave a Reply

