the missing camera

Sadly, my camera is still missing 😦 I’ve been quite busy this week, but I still have a ton of kitchen happenings I’d like to document and share! I received the contact information for the bus driver we had on our way to the airport a few weeks ago though, so my mission for tomorrow is to contact them and see if they found my camera!

In the meantime, I thought you might like to check out the AMAZING restaurant my mom and I dined at on our last night in Eugene (last Saturday). It was called Anatolia and I had seen it in a little brochure we picked up. As we were walking around the downtown area, we finally stumbled upon it and I immediately knew we needed to eat there. It was SO. CUTE. After MUCH deliberation, we decided to order a large Greek salad and the korma chicken curry and split them both. Oh. My. Goodness. Apparently we American’s don’t know how to make a Greek salad…and I suggest that we learn! This authentic Greek salad involved no lettuce – just onion, bell pepper, cucumber, and big, juices pieces of tomato topped off with olive oil, oregano, and HUGE slabs of feta cheese!! No, you are not dreaming. I said SLABS of feta. Yuuuuummmmmm.

The chicken curry was unbelievable. There were 2 large chicken breasts, so it was the perfect size to share. I wish I were better at detecting all of the ingredients in a dish just by tasting it because I want to recreate this so badly. The sauce was just out of this world good. Definitely the best meal of the trip overall….although the lamb curry I had for lunch the day before at a little Middle Eastern cafe called Casablanca was also insanely delicious (even if the rest of the meal was so-so).

Upon returning to Manhattan, Martina and I were grocery shopping to replenish our depleted kitchen. As I waited for her, I stumbled upon a box of frozen, ALL-NATURAL, hormone free, free range chicken breasts!!!! At WAL-MART! I was stunned. I had just resigned myself to the fact that I would have to go without meat because a) I didn’t want to make another stop and b) I already had way too much in my cart since it was the beginning of a new month, meaning I had to buy a bunch of those random things that you have to buy like once per decade yet you always run out of all of them at the same time. Lame. The chicken was quite pricey but definitely less than buying individual chicken breasts at Hy-Vee and I was just too shocked to pass it up.

Hopefully my camera will be back soon so I can post a more entertaining update! And recipes!! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

