stuffed peppers

It is certainly no secret that I love Mexican food. Anything involving beans, avocado, salsa, chili powder, cumin, coriander…I’m there. So, it should be no surprise that I eat some combination of these foods multiple times each week, usually in a bowl with homemade tortilla chips/millet/rice OR in the form of a bean burger. This week, I splurged on some bell peppers and decided to change things up with some stuffed peppers….

….2 nights in a row. I know I’ve mentioned before that I have a strange issue with eating the same thing for dinner 2 nights in a row but I went quite a few days without Mexican flavors when we were traveling last weekend for our track meet AND our former teammate was coming over last night and bringing homemade guacamole. Therefore, stuffed  peppers seemed like a good decision. It also allowed me to do some recipe adjusting so I now have an original and a speedy version of the recipe.

Stuffed Peppers (serves 2)

  • 2 bell peppers
  • 1/4 c. millet
  • 3/4 to 1 c. vegetable stock (or water)
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. + 1 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/4 c. diced onion
  • 1/4 c. diced bell pepper (I used frozen bell pepper strips)
  • 1/2 c. frozen corn
  • 1/2 tomato, seeded and diced
  • 1/2 can black beans, rinsed + drained
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/4 avocado, diced
  • handful of feta cheese
  • 1/4 c. shredded cheese (I used extra sharp white cheddar)
  • 1/4 c. salsa
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Start by adding your millet to a dry saucepan over medium-high heat and allow it to toast for a few minutes before adding vegetable stock, 1/2 tsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. coriander, and 1/2 tsp. minced garlic. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium, cover, and let cook until liquid is absorbed (about 20-25 minutes).
  3. To prepare the peppers, cut in a circle around the top (about 1/2 to 1 inch away from the stem) and remove the core + seeds. Then, cut each pepper in half vertically.
  4. Heat oil in a skillet over medium, then add garlic + onion. Saute about 3-4 minutes before adding bell pepper and frozen corn. Next, add the tomato, black beans, cumin, and chili powder. Reduce heat to medium-low and allow to cook, stirring occasionally, until millet is ready.
  5. Once millet has absorbed all liquid, stir avocado and feta cheese (if using) into the bean mixture, then add it to the millet and stir to combine.
  6. Now, it’s time to fill the pepper halves! You can either place them in a baking dish and then fill them, or fill them before placing them in the dish…whatever seems to be the least messy (I used a fairly small square glass casserole dish to keep the peppers from going all over the place). Once the peppers are filled, add some water to the bottom of the dish and place it in the oven. Bake 30-45 minutes or until peppers are tender. During the last few minutes, add about a tablespoon of salsa to each pepper and sprinkle with cheese.

**I made this using 1 pepper, but there was definitely enough filling for another. Instead of making 2 servings (4 pepper halves), you could also just eat the extra filling while you wait for the peppers to bake (like I did) or save it to make another stuffed pepper later! 🙂

Last night, I wanted a quicker version of the stuffed pepper and I planned on eating some tortilla chips with the homemade guacamole so I didn’t really feel like I needed a grain component in the pepper. To speed it up, I placed the pepper halves in our steamer basket in a pot of boiling water while I prepared the beans. Then, I just put the bean mixture in the steamed pepper halves. No waiting for millet to absorb liquid or peppers to cook through in the oven required. I do think that the peppers might have been a bit more flavorful in the oven baked method, but this was a good alternative if you’re pressed for time.

One thought on “stuffed peppers

Leave a Reply

