so many recipes!

Do you know what one of my favorite days of each month is? The day this appears in my mailbox:

Can I just tell you how many recipes are in this thing?! A LOT. Which also leads to a lot of recipe ideas. And each month, I fold over about 100 page corners with every intention of making the selected recipes and then the magazine ends up here…

…with it’s bookmarked recipes left untried. As we traveled to the Big 12 track meet this past weekend and I browsed all of the recipes, I decided that there would be no excuses this time. School is out and these recipes will be tried! I sat down and added the necessary ingredients to my shopping list so I could get started. Tonight, I started in on recipe #1 (with a few slight changes).

I will admit, some of the recipes in this magazine are better for looking at when on a college student’s budget but couscous + veggies? I can do that. Since I don’t have a grill basket, I just roasted the veggies (red bell pepper, yellow squash, red onion, and minced garlic) in the oven at about 450 degrees for about 10 minutes while I made the couscous. To prepare the couscous, I started by sauteing garlic and onion in olive oil, then adding vegetable stock and oregano and bringing it to a boil before stirring in the couscous.

Oh yeah..I also did this:

The recipe said to roast 2 cloves of garlic with the veggies to use in the yogurt sauce but I didn’t need this head of garlic for anything else and I’ve REALLY been wanting to try roasting garlic. If you haven’t done this before, you are missing OUT!

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Cut the top off of a head of garlic so the cloves are exposed.
  3. Place garlic on a piece of foil.
  4. Drizzle olive oil on top of garlic so it sinks down between the cloves.
  5. Sprinkle with salt + pepper.
  6. Bring foil up around sides and seal.
  7. Place on baking sheet and roast 30-40 minutes, until soft.

That’s it. Your house will smell amazing and you will have deliciously spreadable bits of garlic. Spread it on homemade bread. Blend it into a dip or sauce. Eat it with a fork. It’s whatever…just try it.

The sauce was supposed to consist of plain yogurt blended with the roasted garlic and a bit of roasted pepper, but there wasn’t enough of it for our blender to do it’s thing, so it didn’t really reach sauce status. I took a little taste though and it was still pretty flavorful! It would be great on a sandwich or something like that for sure!

The veggies turned out nice and roasted with a little bit of charring…just as if they’d been grilled! I was actually quite surprised that I couldn’t tell much of a difference. Starting the couscous with sauteed garlic + onion and cooking it in the vegetable stock adds an incredible amount of flavor and I would definitely suggest it! It only adds an extra minute or two to an already short prep time.

I can’t wait to try some more of the summer time recipes in my latest Food Network Magazine! 🙂 Also on my no school agenda is to watch endless episodes of Psych using my Netflix free trial (best show EVER) and check out this documentary. I’ll be sure to post an update after I watch it!

Leave a Reply

