huevos rancheros remix

Those of you who know me know that I don’t like eggs. Or the smell of people cooking eggs. Or watching people cook eggs. So you can imagine my surprise a few months ago when I was craving eggs.


What the heck.

I was confused. Not to mention a little concerned. Why on earth would I be craving eggs? The situation went a little something like this…

Brain: You want eggs. Not just any eggs….the kind with a runny yolk. Now.

Me: ….are you sure about that? We don’t like eggs, remember??

Brain: Yes. I’m sure. You just need to get yourself some runny eggs as soon as possible.

Weird. To be honest, I thought maybe I was just thirsty. You know, like when you’re craving some yogurt or some fruit or something juicy and then you realize you’re just really thirsty? I thought maybe that was it. Why else on earth would I be craving runny eggs?! So, I drank some water and waited a few weeks.

Just when I had begun to forget about the whole incident, the craving returned. And it wouldn’t go away. Ok, so maybe I really did want to eat eggs. But let me tell you something – when you don’t like eggs, you don’t know how to cook them (or want to cook them for that matter). So, again I put off the craving. Until one night over Christmas break when my mom was making hash browns for dinner and my brain said this would be the perfect runny egg opportunity. A bit sheepishly, I requested a runny egg on my hash browns. My mom looked at me, the egg hater, a bit confused but didn’t judge. She just made me a nice, runny egg and dropped it right on the hash browns. It was wonderful.

That only seemed to make the craving worse. Let me just say that when you don’t know how to cook an egg and you’re just coming off of an approximately 20 year aversion to eggs (I’m told I used to like to eat eggs??), even the slightest difference between the egg you envision in your head and the egg you see in the pan can be a problem. But I think I’ve finally mastered the preparation of the runny egg. It is still a gamble though because the slightest brown, crispy edge or fully cooked egg still grosses me out and then I’ve got a wasted egg. But if you’re going to get me to eat something I don’t like, the best shot you’ve got is putting it in the form of Mexican food.

Huevos rancheros is a Mexican breakfast dish typically involving beans, salsa, queso fresco (a Mexican cheese), and an egg on a corn tortilla – today’s lunch was huevos rancheros remixed, if you will 🙂

Do you know how to make polenta? I bet you do and you didn’t even know it!

To make polenta, you just add cornmeal to boiling water and whisk. It takes less than 5 minutes, making it the perfect base for my huevos rancheros remix. Next came some flavor packed black beans, feta cheese, and…..the runny egg. It turned out great and with each part taking about 5 minutes or less to throw together, it was the perfect meal for me!

Huevos Rancheros Remix

  • 1/2 c. + 2 T. water
  • 1/4 c. cornmeal
  • dash salt + pepper
  • 1/2 15 oz. can black beans
  • 1/2 15 oz. can diced tomatoes (undrained)
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 egg
  • feta cheese
  1. Combine beans, tomatoes, spices, garlic, and onion in a saucepan and simmer over medium to medium-low heat while you prepare the polenta and egg.
  2. In another saucepan, bring water to boil. Add cornmeal, salt, and pepper, and begin whisking immediately (also removing from heat) until fully incorporated and most of the lumps are gone. Place in your serving dish.
  3. Heat a small pan (sprayed with non-stick spray) over medium heat. Once hot, add egg and cook until white is done, but yolk is still runny. You’ll probably need to flip it about halfway through.
  4. Pour beans over polenta, sprinkle with feta cheese, and add egg on top.

When I made the beans, I added 1 tsp. chili powder instead of 1/2 tsp. and I thought it was on the spicy side and a bit overpowering. I would recommend just starting with a lesser amount, then tasting as you go and adjusting the spices as needed 🙂 The beans were still good although they kind of hid the flavor of the polenta a bit 😦 Still such a good lunch though!!

In other news, if you haven’t been watching, the second season Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution started last week! The first two episodes are up on hulu.com and I would HIGHLY recommend checking them out. It is a great show and it’s important to be informed if we want to bring about change! I’d love to hear your thoughts once you’ve checked it out…I could discuss this stuff all day 🙂

Also, have you checked out my recipe page?? It’s still quite small, but I’ll keep adding to it as I post new recipes!

Leave a Reply

