homemade pizza crust

Each weekend, I try to plan out my dinners for the rest of the week so I can get what I need at the grocery store and maximize the ingredients I have. My practice schedule also has a large impact on my meal plan too. Tuesdays and Fridays are hard workouts, which means I’ll want food fast when I get home….and lots of it. Mondays and Thursdays are pretty laid back and I usually have a lot of time between practice and dinner to make something that takes a little more time. But for some reason on Tuesday, I decided I needed to make pizza.

How I managed to mix up the dough and then wait 45 minutes for it to rise before making my pizza is beyond me. Getting my toppings ready, cleaning up the kitchen, and downing some chocolate milk helped pass the time though. And you can rest assured that if I’ll wait over an hour for dinner after practice, it MUST be good.

Homemade Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

  • 1/2 c. warm water (115 degrees)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. + 1/8 tsp. (or 1/2 envelope) active dry yeast
  • 3/4 c. all purpose flour
  • 3/4 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • cornmeal (to dust pan)
  1. Dissolve sugar in warm water, sprinkle yeast over top, and stir to dissolve. Let sit in warm spot (like your microwave) for about 5 minutes until the top is foamy.
  2. Combine flour and salt in a large bowl. Make a well in the center and pour in the foamy yeast mixture + olive oil.
  3. Use a wooden spoon to vigorously stir flour into the well.
  4. Turn dough onto a floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic.
  5. Place dough in a well oiled bowl, cover, and let rise in a warm spot about 45 minutes.
  6. Divide into 2 pieces for individual crusts, or leave in 1 piece for a regular sized pizza crust.
  7. Dust with flour and roll to about 1/4″ thick, leaving the edges slightly thicker than the center.
  8. Dust a cookie sheet or pizza stone with cornmeal and place dough on cornmeal dusted pan.
  9. Add toppings.
  10. Bake about 10 minutes until crust is golden brown and cheese is melted.

Love. This. Crust.

The whole wheat flour makes it hearty and filling and the cornmeal adds such a nice crunch + texture to the bottom. I’m still desperately trying to recreate the Mega Veggie pizza I had at the Mellow Mushroom in Arizona, but I don’ think I’ll ever master it. I’m always missing a few ingredients and I haven’t figured out how they made their sauce but it was AWESOME.

This one had fresh tomato, sun dried tomatoes, artichoke hearts, roasted red pepper, broccoli, feta, and extra sharp white cheddar cheese. It was pretty delicious. Extra bonus? I have the other half of the pizza dough left to use after tomorrow’s hard practice! 🙂

3 thoughts on “homemade pizza crust

  1. Pingback: This is for Real

Leave a Reply

