food should taste good

Finally back to my own kitchen! 🙂 Although I did find some delicious southwestern bean soup + frozen mixed veggies to eat while on the trip and mix up the sandwich routine, I was definitely ready to get back to eating some more normal, home-cooked meals. I celebrated today with a HUGE salad for lunch.

I love vegetables 🙂 I had red leaf lettuce (so soft and delicious!), carrots, mini bell peppers, cucumber, tomato, hummus, and a sprinkle of feta. For the dressing, I mixed some olive oil, red wine vinegar, apple cider vinegar, and dijon mustard. Those veggies tasted GOOD. Speaking of tasting good – on the side, I had some of these Food Should Taste Good chips!

Last time I bought them, I seriously ate the whole bag at once. They are so good…which is why I haven’t bought them again 😉 But, I found an awesome coupon book at Hy-Vee awhile back with a $1.00 off coupon which made this bag less than $2.00! I had no excuse….they had to be purchased. Luckily, I have not eaten the whole bag yet, but we’ll see how long that lasts.

Usually, I just cut up a few corn tortillas and pop them in the toaster oven for a few minutes when I want some chips because of my tendency to just go to town on bags of chips. Something also seems to go wrong during the manufacturing stage between corn tortilla and tortilla chip where all kinds of strange ingredients make their way into the bag, so that is another reason I make my own. BUT, these are a different story!

They have short ingredient lists and TONS of different varieties, so keep an eye out!

Now, I had this bar the other day before my race and forgot to share it. These Bora Bora bars are all natural + organic and the ingredient list is quite simple. That is SO hard to find in a bar of any kind.

This flavor is pretty delicious…I mean, look at the GIANT pieces of dried fruit and nuts in there!

Yeah, those are WHOLE dried cherries. I didn’t think the other flavors could beat this, but I picked up the only other one the store had just to try it out. I ate it on the plane yesterday and it was insanely delicious. No picture, but it was Exotic Coconut Almond. There were whole almonds in it and it was so crunchy + chewy + coconuty. I mean, I’m not necessarily a huge coconut person, but this was good.

I have quite a few recipes I’m hoping to try out this week now that I have a kitchen again, so I’ll keep you posted! 🙂

Leave a Reply

