spring is here!

The weather is finally warming up and I am already craving all kinds of light, fresh meals. I can’t wait until farmer’s markets are back in full swing! I have recently discovered an obsession with wheat berries…I just can’t get over how chewy and delicious they are! They’re really easy to prepare too. All you do is submerge them in water, bring to a boil, then simmer (covered) for about 25 minutes, which leaves them nice and firm/chewy. I’ve been preparing a batch on the weekends to keep in the fridge and use during the week. So far, they’re good straight from the fridge, added to brown rice and served with a veggie stir-fry, stirred into oatmeal, and in this creation:

That would be a tuna + wheat berry salad! Last week, I was out of bread to make my usual sandwich at lunch so I improvised with the wheat berries I had waiting in the fridge. I made my standard tuna salad with tuna + bell pepper + green onion+ fresh lemon juice + black pepper, then I stirred in some wheat berries as kind of a stand-in for the usual bread. It was great! So much so that I made it again later in the week, this time adding in some great northern beans to help add some more “staying power”. It turned out great!

Wheat berries are basically just the entire wheat kernel (minus the tough hull), so they are pretty much the definition of a whole grain and are packed with nutrients. I get mine in the bulk bins at People’s Grocery for around $1.00/pound, but you should be able to find them in the regular grocery store too.

This salad is perfect for the warmer weather that finally seems to be here to stay! I’m sure I’ll keep making all kinds of variations throughout the summer months 🙂

Leave a Reply

