I’m back!

OK. I have been a TERRIBLE blogger for the past…..few months. Let’s just say that school got insanely busy and between that and running, I barely had time to cook a decent meal, let alone share it! This semester has been a lot more relaxed though and over Christmas break, I organized all of the recipes I’ve bookmarked on my computer into actual cookbooks!

The purple one is desserts + granola bars/granola and the red one is everything else. Yes, I have a little bit ofΒ  a sweet tooth πŸ™‚ And the inside is filled with…

…recipe cards! Plus, these photo albums had the handy little papers in the middle so I could label the different sections! It is an ongoing process (especially since I bookmark about 1,000 new recipes per day when I have approximately 5,000 already waiting to be written on cards and added to the book), but it also helped me discover some delicious, easy recipes I had saved that were just waiting to be used! So, my goal this semester has been to pick out at least one new recipe to try every week in order to get out of the rut of cooking the same quick things all the time. So far, I’d say its been pretty successful!

Through this process though, I’ve realized how much I miss sharing all of the wonderful foods and recipes I’ve discovered! The blog just made it so easy to do that so, instead of continuing to send picture messages and random texts to people about what I just made, I decided it would be easier to just start blogging again. Of course, it was hard to just randomly put up a post after a solid 6 month hiatus. BUT, the domain name for my own site (thisisforrealblog.com) recently expired anyway, so I just decided to start fresh back here on a WordPress blog πŸ™‚

Now, on to the food! Last week, the track team was on a 10 day trip to San Diego/Tempe, AZ and, while it was fun to try some local restaurants, I SERIOUSLY missed my kitchen!! When I got back, I realized I not only missed getting to decide what I wanted and knowing what was in my food, but just the sounds of cooking – chopping, measuring, sauteing….ok. I’m weird. Either way, it has been great to make my own food again!

Tonight, I had the other half of a pizza I made earlier in the week with a millet buckwheat crust. YUM.

Grinding your own flour? Not hard. And totally delicious. This isn’t your typical yeast-based pizza crust, but it is totally delicious and INSANELY filling. Not to mention fast, since you don’t have to wait for it to rise or anything. If I had to compare the texture to something, I’d say it’s similar to cornbread – the outside gets nice and crisp, while the inside is soft and slightly grainy.

It was great re-heated in the toaster oven too…tasted just like it did the first time around! The toppings were loosely based on the most amazing pizza ever that I had in Tempe (the Mega Veggie from the Mellow Mushroom). After being gone for so long, my fridge was not very well stocked, so this one had bell pepper, roma tomato, sun dried tomato, feta, extra sharp white cheddar, and sausage. I plan to re-create the original Mega Veggie very soon though!

On the side, I took inspiration from this recipe for Asparagus with Balsamic Tomatoes in the Cooking Light magazine I picked up for the flight home. I sauteed a diced roma tomato with garlic and balsamic glaze, then tossed it with steamed broccoli + red pepper and topped it all off with a sprinkle of feta.

My camera was having some issues at this point, so the picture isn’t great, but it tasted pretty good! I think this post has been long enough, so I’ll be back later to share more deliciousness! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “I’m back!

    • Sydney says:

      Thank you so much! And I love all of your delicious recipes! πŸ™‚ Good luck unpacking everything at your new house πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

