broccoli alert

There have been so many new things going on in my kitchen, I don’t know where to start! First of all – have you ever tried Pepperplate?! Ummm…best app ever. I was looking for some kind of grocery shopping/recipe app and this was the first one I came across. I wanted one to help me actually buy ingredients so I could try new recipes instead of just looking at them and then never making them or forgetting one or two things. I couldn’t tell if it was legit or not but I downloaded it anyway and I love it!

On my computer, I have a little button on my bookmark toolbar that allows me to input recipes straight from websites. I mean, I don’t even have to copy and paste. All you do is hit the button and a side bar comes up, then you can just DRAG the info into the correct field (ingredients, instructions, picture, etc.). You can then add saved recipes to the different days/meals on your monthly planner, build menus, or even add to a shopping list – you can even scale the recipe (1/2, 1/4, double, etc.) BEFORE adding it to your list! It gets better. I have the app on my phone and my Kindle too, so I can see the shopping list (or even full recipes, if needed) while I’m at the store and I can prop my Kindle up in the kitchen with the recipe pulled up while I cook! The system was truly put to the test for the first time tonight and it was great!

Last week I selected this garbanzo bean salad that met all of my criteria for a good recipe – delicious, nutritious, easy, and nothing really crazy that I wouldn’t have on hand or wouldn’t be able to use for something else. Little stuff like specific oils, spices, etc. can really add up and just aren’t practical on my little college student grocery budget!

Oh my goodness gracious was this ever delicious. And filling! I cooked up some fluffy millet to go underneath and I already can’t wait to take care of the leftovers.

I also got a new cookbook last week – the Joy the Baker cookbook to be exact! Joy’s blog is one of my absolute favorites to read because she is so funny and real…and her food is AWESOME. I can’t even tell you how many of her recipes I’ve made and gotten rave reviews. In fact, I’ve had a request for her spiced apple cake (I REALLY need to get a bundt pan) that I will be making this week…even though I’d rather be working my way through the 100 new recipes in the cookbook! :) We did make some trail mix cookies on Saturday night while watching one of our teammates tear it up at the NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships though, so that’s one recipe down – 99 to go! The cookies were quite delicious and made for a perfect evening. Baking + track? Doesn’t get much better than that if you ask me :)

In other news, I wanted to make curried millet last week to use up some chickpeas…until I realize that I was out of millet. And curry powder. Problem. So, I winged it. I was going to sub rice but had to take one of my roommates to the store anyway and was able to pick up more millet. I made it more of a Mexican dish by subbing chili powder, cumin, and coriander for the curry and turmeric. I also added some diced bell pepper and swapped out the dried fruit for mango! I definitely didn’t have the spice combination quite right but I was hungry and it was certainly edible. I think with a little more tweaking though, I could be onto something! Definitely needed some lime juice. If you haven’t tried millet before, you must try it soon!

Oh. Can we take a minute to celebrate how light it is at night again?? This last picture was taken before that happened and it is a little depressing… ;) Also, I am totally addicted to roasted broccoli. To the point where I (accidentally) spent over $6 on broccoli for the week awhile back. And I’ve started a roasted broccoli revolution among my roommates. At least one person makes it every night. EVEN my meat-and-potatoes-loving-don’t-feed-me-anything-colorful Iowa roommate. AND our smoke detector only goes off when broccoli comes out of the oven. We have re-named it the broccoli detector.

Leave a Reply

