curried millet

Okay, the semester is OVER and I’m finally posting this absolutely delicious curried millet!

I left out the parsley because 1) I didn’t have any 2) I don’t like it. Oh, and I substituted a mix of craisins and golden raisins for the currants. It was seriously so delicious that I made it twice in one week. I made half the recipe each time and wasn’t quite sure it would be enough to fill me up for dinner, but it most definitely was. You must make it. Soon.

I also finally got around to using the farro I bought at Whole Foods…back in September. After reading this blog post, I knew I needed to track down some farro and give it a shot. So, when I ran out of all forms of oatmeal AND bread last week, it was time to grind up the farro and make some porridge!

Ummm…why did I only buy enough to eat this twice?! So. Good. This was a really nice change from regular oatmeal – the texture is so smooth and the farro has a really light flavor. I cooked 1/3 c. of the ground farro (ground in the blender) with 3/4 c. milk and 1/2 c. water and a sprinkling of cinnamon, then added my usual mashed banana after it had cooked/thickened about 5-10 minutes. Gosh, it was so good! Can you tell how creamy it is?!

Definitely need to find some more of this to add to my breakfast routine more often!

One thought on “curried millet

Leave a Reply

